Currently Reading

I haven’t posted any spreadsheets this week because I have been focusing on reading through a few more books.

Image

The first book I read this week was the Motley Fool Investment Guide. I have seen this book sitting on the shelf of my favorite used book store for the last few years, but hadn’t taken a look at the book until now because the clowns on the cover gave me the impression this books was for, well, clowns. But after my sister’s fiancee highly recommended the book, I decided to take a look at it. I was pleasantly surprised to find this book had a nice introduction to fundamental analysis and income statements. Motley Fool was an entertaining review of basic fundamentals and also taught me a few new things.

Image

I am currently working my way through The Little Book that Still Beats the Market. This is a very simple book written for the complete neophyte and presents an investment system which ranks stocks based on earnings yield and return on capital. The book is very simplistic, but has lead me to think more about stock screens, as well as the merits and drawbacks of mechanical investing.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

